Best Adjustable Dumbbells for 2026

A comparison of 10 adjustable dumbbell systems on sale now, covering dial-select mechanisms, plate-loaded budget sets, and an app-connected option, with verified pricing and specs.

Last updated 13 min readCompiled from official sources — not tested by Guidevio

How this guide was built: Guidevio compiled it from manufacturers' official product pages, specifications and warranty terms, plus retailer listings for availability. We did not buy, borrow or test any of these products, and nothing here is a laboratory result, a review score or a sponsored placement. Prices are shown only where we saw them on an official or retailer page and can change at any time. Links marked Amazon are affiliate links: as an Amazon Associate, Guidevio earns from qualifying purchases, and those links are marked sponsored. Other links go straight to the brand or retailer page and earn nothing. Commissions never decide which products are included or how they're ranked.

A pair of adjustable dumbbells on the floor of a home gym
Illustrative photography commissioned for Guidevio. It shows the category in context and is not a photo of any recommended product.

Adjustable dumbbells replace a full rack of fixed-weight pairs with one or two units that change load through a dial, pin, or loose plates. This guide compares 10 systems currently sold by their manufacturers or major retailers, spanning quick-turn dial mechanisms, block-style pin systems, and traditional plate-and-collar sets, so shoppers can weigh weight range, increment size, and cost against the space and budget they have available.

It is written for people setting up a home gym in a bedroom, garage, or apartment who want to cover a range of exercises without buying and storing a dozen separate dumbbell pairs. That includes beginners who need a compact 5 to 25 lb range as much as more experienced lifters who want a single pair to serve for presses and heavy loaded carries alike.

The comparison focuses on published weight range, increment size between settings, whether the mechanism is a turning dial, sliding pin, or manual plate-and-collar setup, whether the dumbbells are sold as a pair or a single unit, and whether a storage cradle or stand ships with the product. Every figure below comes from a manufacturer page or a major retailer listing; where a spec or price wasn't published on a page we checked, it has been left out rather than estimated.

Who this guide is for

  • Home-gym owners who want one set to replace a full rack of fixed dumbbells
  • Apartment or small-space lifters who need a compact footprint
  • Beginners who want a lighter overall weight range and simple mechanism
  • Intermediate to advanced lifters who need to load past 50 lb per hand
  • Buyers who prioritize a low upfront cost over speed of weight changes
  • Anyone who wants app-based workout tracking built into their strength equipment

How we chose

  • Shortlisted products from current manufacturer line-ups and major retailer catalogs (Bowflex, PowerBlock, NordicTrack, Core Home Fitness, Titan Fitness, Yes4All, Amazon Basics, Marcy, FLYBIRD)
  • Compared published weight range, increment size, and mechanism type directly from official product pages or retailer listings
  • Checked official warranty, shipping, and accessory/parts pages where available
  • Covered a spread of budgets, from sub-$50 plate-loaded sets to premium dial systems over $600
  • Verified prices against the manufacturer or retailer page cited for each pick, noting when a figure was a sale price at time of research
  • Labelled each set by its published top weight per dumbbell and weight-change mechanism. We didn't use gender, because the category doesn't make men's and women's versions.

Top 10 at a glance

Specifications as published by the manufacturer or the listing we consulted. Scroll sideways on a small screen.

Comparison of the ten picks in Best Adjustable Dumbbells for 2026
PickBest forWeight Range (per dumbbell)Increment SizeMechanismSold AsCradle/Stand IncludedPriceOfficial site
1. Results Series 552 SelectTech DumbbellsLifters who want a fast dial-based system covering light to moderately heavy work5-52.5 lbsApprox. 2.5 lb steps (varies by setting)Turning dialPairTrays included; stand sold separately$399 (regular $479)Visit
2. Elite USA 90 EXP Adjustable DumbbellsLifters who want a block-style system they can expand over timeExpandable to 90 lbsVaries with micro weightsPin selector (block)PairNot stated on page checkedPrice varies — see official pageVisit
3. Results Series 1090 SelectTech DumbbellsIntermediate to advanced lifters who need to load past 52.5 lb per hand10-90 lbsApprox. 5 lb steps at higher settingsTurning dialPairTrays included; stand sold separately$699 (regular $799)Visit
4. 55 Lb. Select-A-Weight DumbbellsBuyers who want iFIT-linked strength content alongside a dial dumbbell10-55 lbs2.5 to 5 lb stepsTurning selector dialPairStorage trays included$499Visit
5. Adjustable Dumbbell Set (5-50 lbs)Buyers who want a twist-handle mechanism instead of a dial or pin5-50 lbs5 lbTwist-lock handlePairAluminum cradle included$399.99 (regular $429.99)Visit
6. BowFlex SelectTech 552i DumbbellsBuyers who want their dumbbells to sync with a training app5-52.5 lbsApprox. 2-3 lb stepsTurning dial + app connectivityPairTrays included; stand sold separately£399.99 (regular £549.99)Visit
7. FLYBIRD DB2 Quick Adjustable Dumbbell 55LBSBuyers who want a dial-style twist system at a lower price than Bowflex or NordicTrack15-55 lbs10 lbTwist handlePairStorage tray included$389.00-$398.00Visit
8. 200 LB Set Adjustable Chrome DumbbellsLifters who want a traditional plate-and-collar system with a very high top weight5-100 lbs2.5, 5, or 10 lb platesPlate-and-collarPairNot included per listing$414.97 (regular $509.99)Visit
9. Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Weight Plates/ConnectorBudget-conscious buyers who don't mind manually loading platesVaries by kit (e.g. 20 lb per dumbbell in the 40 lb pair)2.5 to 8 lb per platePlate-and-collarPairNot included$58.41Visit
10. Marcy 40 lbs. Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Carrying Case (ADS-42)Buyers who want the lowest-cost adjustable option with portabilityUp to approx. 20 lb per handle (40 lb total set)3 or 5 lb platesPlate-and-collarPairCarrying case included$39.99Visit

The ten picks in detail

1Best overallBowflex

Results Series 552 SelectTech Dumbbells

Bowflex

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Results Series 552 SelectTech Dumbbells

The 552 adjusts from 5 to 52.5 lbs per dumbbell using a turning selection dial, replacing what Bowflex describes as 15 sets of weights in one compact unit. It ships with storage trays and is sold as a pair.

Why it is on this list: It's one of the most widely available dial-adjust systems with a long track record, a wide 5-52.5 lb range, and clearly published increment data, making it easy to verify against the official listing.

Key features

  • 5 to 52.5 lbs per adjustable dumbbell
  • Quick adjustment weight selection dials
  • Premium metal components attach plates to the handle
  • Non-slip grips and storage trays included
  • Compatible with the Bowflex SelectTech Adjustable Dumbbell Stand (sold separately)
  • Weight range: 5 to 52.5 lbs (2.3 to 23.9 kg) per dumbbell
  • Sold as: Pair
  • Storage: Storage trays included
Pros
  • Wide weight range for a single compact unit
  • Dial adjustment is fast between sets
  • Storage trays included at this price
Cons
  • Stand sold separately
  • Regular price is $479; the $399 figure was a sale price at time of research

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 5 to 52.5 lb per dumbbell, sold as a pair.
  • Dial-select with storage trays included.

Guidevio's read

  • A range that covers most beginners and intermediate upper-body work.
  • Fast dial changes suit circuit-style workouts.

Before you buy: Check current pricing on the official page, since Bowflex regularly runs sales that change the listed price from the $479 regular price.

$399 (regular $479) — seen on bowflex.com · Best for Lifters who want a fast dial-based system covering light to moderately heavy workCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
2Best premium/expandablePowerBlock

Elite USA 90 EXP Adjustable Dumbbells

PowerBlock

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Elite USA 90 EXP Adjustable Dumbbells

The Elite USA 90 uses PowerBlock's pin-selector block design and is expandable up to 90 lb per dumbbell, according to the official product page. Additional weight increments come from removable micro weights described on PowerBlock's weight range guide.

Why it is on this list: PowerBlock's stackable block mechanism is a distinct alternative to dial systems and is designed to expand as a lifter's needs grow, which the manufacturer documents on dedicated compatibility and expansion pages.

Key features

  • Expandable up to 90 lb per dumbbell
  • Pin-based selector mechanism
  • Compatible with Elite USA expansion kits and attachments (sold separately)
  • Compatible with Elite USA straight bar, EZ curl bar, and kettlebell handle attachments
  • Weight range: Expandable up to 90 lb per dumbbell
  • Micro weight adjustment: Removable micro weights allow smaller increments, per PowerBlock's weight range guide
Pros
  • Expandable system rather than a fixed maximum
  • Compact block shape takes less shelf space than round plates
  • Wide attachment ecosystem (bars, kettlebell handle) sold by the same manufacturer
Cons
  • Base unit does not include the full 90 lb range; expansion kits are sold separately
  • No price was published on the pages checked at time of research

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
90 lb+ per hand
How you change weight
Pin / block

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • Expandable up to 90 lb per dumbbell.
  • Removable micro weights allow smaller increments, per PowerBlock's guide.

Guidevio's read

  • Start lighter and expand as you get stronger.
  • Pin-select block design.

Before you buy: Confirm which expansion kit is required to reach your target top weight before buying, since PowerBlock sells the base unit and expansions separately.

Price varies — see official page · Best for Lifters who want a block-style system they can expand over timeCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
3Best for heavier liftingBowflex

Results Series 1090 SelectTech Dumbbells

Bowflex

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Results Series 1090 SelectTech Dumbbells

The 1090 extends Bowflex's dial mechanism up to 90 lbs per dumbbell, replacing what the brand calls a 17-in-1 set. It uses the same locking dial system as the 552 with knurled hand grips.

Why it is on this list: It's the higher-capacity companion to the 552 for lifters who outgrow a 52.5 lb ceiling, while keeping the same quick-adjust dial mechanism documented on the official product page.

Key features

  • 10 to 90 lbs per adjustable dumbbell
  • Quick adjustment weight selection dials
  • Knurled hand grips
  • Storage trays included
  • Compatible with the Bowflex SelectTech Adjustable Dumbbell Stand (sold separately)
  • Weight range: 10 to 90 lbs (4.5 to 40.8 kg) per dumbbell
  • Sold as: Pair
Pros
  • High top-end weight for a dial system
  • Same fast dial mechanism as Bowflex's lighter models
  • Storage trays included
Cons
  • Larger and heavier per-unit footprint than the 552
  • Shipping charge of $49 was listed separately on the official page

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
90 lb+ per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 10 to 90 lb per dumbbell, sold as a pair.
  • Dial-select.

Guidevio's read

  • For lifters who need more than 52.5 lb per hand.
  • Dial speed at heavier weights.

Before you buy: Each dumbbell is heavier and physically larger than the 552 at low settings, so check the per-dumbbell dimensions if storage space is tight.

$699 (regular $799) — seen on bowflex.com · Best for Intermediate to advanced lifters who need to load past 52.5 lb per handCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
4Best runner-up dial systemNordicTrack

55 Lb. Select-A-Weight Dumbbells

NordicTrack

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

55 Lb. Select-A-Weight Dumbbells

NordicTrack's Select-A-Weight dumbbell adjusts from 10 to 55 lbs in 15 increments per the official listing, and includes fitted storage trays. A 30-day iFIT trial is bundled at purchase.

Why it is on this list: It's a widely sold alternative to the Bowflex dial mechanism with a clearly published weight ladder (10, 12.5, 15, 20, 22.5, 25, 30, 32.5, 35, 40, 42.5, 45, 50, 52.5, 55 lb) and its own companion app ecosystem.

Key features

  • 10 lb to 55 lb adjustment range
  • 15 incremental weight settings per dumbbell
  • Storage trays included
  • 30-day iFIT trial included at purchase (subscription required after trial)
  • Weight range: 10 to 55 lbs per dumbbell
  • Increments: 10, 12.5, 15, 20, 22.5, 25, 30, 32.5, 35, 40, 42.5, 45, 50, 52.5, 55 lb
Pros
  • Clearly published full increment ladder
  • Storage trays included
  • iFIT trial bundled with purchase
Cons
  • iFIT membership auto-renews at $42/mo after the trial per the retailer checkout page
  • Lower top weight (55 lb) than some competitors

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)App-connected

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 10 to 55 lb per dumbbell in 2.5–5 lb steps.
  • Linked to iFIT strength content.

Guidevio's read

  • Similar range to the Bowflex 552.
  • Dial select, and the pick here with iFIT classes.

Before you buy: Factor in the iFIT subscription cost if you plan to keep using the connected training content after the 30-day trial ends.

$499 — seen on checkout.nordictrack.ca · Best for Buyers who want iFIT-linked strength content alongside a dial dumbbellCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
5Best twist-lock alternativeCore Home Fitness

Adjustable Dumbbell Set (5-50 lbs)

Core Home Fitness

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Adjustable Dumbbell Set (5-50 lbs)

This set adjusts from 5 to 50 lbs in 5 lb increments with a twist of the handle rather than a dial or sliding pin, and ships with an aluminum storage cradle according to the official product page.

Why it is on this list: It offers a mechanically different adjustment method (twist-lock handle) from the dial-based systems above, giving buyers a genuine alternative approach at a similar price point.

Key features

  • 5 to 50 lb range in 5 lb increments
  • Twist-lock handle adjustment, no knobs or levers
  • Included aluminum storage cradle
  • Coated plates and soft-grip handle
  • Weight range: 5 to 50 lbs per dumbbell
  • Increment size: 5 lb
  • Cradle: Aluminum cradle included
Pros
  • Simple twist mechanism with no separate dial or pin to manage
  • Cradle included in the base price
  • Dumbbell length adjusts with load for balance, per the product page
Cons
  • 5 lb increments are coarser than some dial systems' smaller steps
  • Lower top weight (50 lb) than the Bowflex 1090 or PowerBlock options

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 5 to 50 lb per dumbbell in 5 lb steps.
  • Twist-handle mechanism with an aluminum cradle.

Guidevio's read

  • Lighter-to-moderate range.
  • Twist the handle instead of turning dials.

Before you buy: The 5 lb jump between settings is larger than some rivals' finer increments, so lifters wanting small progressive load increases should compare increment size carefully.

$399.99 (regular $429.99) — seen on corehomefitness.com · Best for Buyers who want a twist-handle mechanism instead of a dial or pinCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
6Best app-connected optionBowflex

BowFlex SelectTech 552i Dumbbells

Bowflex

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

BowFlex SelectTech 552i Dumbbells

The 552i is the JRNY-app-linked version of Bowflex's 552 dial dumbbell, syncing with the JRNY app for adaptive weight recommendations and workout tracking, per the official Bowflex listing.

Why it is on this list: It's the clearest currently sold app-connected adjustable dumbbell verified on an official brand page, pairing the proven 552 dial mechanism with JRNY app tracking and coaching.

Key features

  • 2 to 24 kg / 5 to 52.5 lbs per dumbbell
  • 15 weight settings per dumbbell
  • Syncs with the JRNY app for adaptive recommendations and tracking
  • Storage trays included
  • Weight range: 2 to 24 kg (5 to 52.5 lbs) per dumbbell
  • Weight settings: 15 per dumbbell (2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, 18, 20, 23, 24 kg)
  • Material: Steel, nylon, ABS, thermoplastic rubber
Pros
  • JRNY app integration for tracking and adaptive coaching
  • Same reliable dial mechanism as the standard 552
  • Storage trays included
Cons
  • JRNY membership required for full app features and renews automatically unless canceled
  • This is a UK/global listing; check regional pricing and availability on your local Bowflex site

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)App-connected

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 2 to 24 kg (5 to 52.5 lb) per dumbbell, 15 settings.
  • App-connected; UK model priced in pounds.

Guidevio's read

  • Same range as the 552.
  • Dial select that syncs with a training app.

Before you buy: Confirm JRNY subscription terms and regional availability before buying, since the app membership auto-renews at current rates after any trial period.

£399.99 (regular £549.99) — seen on bowflex.co.uk · Best for Buyers who want their dumbbells to sync with a training appCheck price at Bowflex
7Best value dial-style systemFLYBIRD (FED Fitness)

FLYBIRD DB2 Quick Adjustable Dumbbell 55LBS

FLYBIRD (FED Fitness)

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

FLYBIRD DB2 Quick Adjustable Dumbbell 55LBS

The DB2 twists between five weight settings (15, 25, 35, 45, 55 lbs) and ships with a storage tray, according to FED Fitness's official listing. FLYBIRD is now sold under the unified FED Fitness brand.

Why it is on this list: It covers the same general use case as the premium dial dumbbells at a lower published price, with a documented weight ladder and safety-lock plate design.

Key features

  • 5 weight settings: 15, 25, 35, 45, 55 lbs
  • Twist-handle 1-second weight switch
  • TPE-coated bar for grip comfort
  • Safety lock design to keep plates seated during lifts
  • Weight range: 15 to 55 lbs per dumbbell (set of 2)
  • Weight settings: 5 (15, 25, 35, 45, 55 lb)
Pros
  • Fewer, larger increments make weight selection quick
  • 1-year warranty stated on the official listing
  • 30-day money-back guarantee per the listing
Cons
  • Only 5 weight settings versus 15+ on Bowflex/NordicTrack dial systems
  • Minimum weight starts at 15 lb, higher than some competitors' lowest setting

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per hand
How you change weight
Quick change (dial/twist)

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 15 to 55 lb per dumbbell, five settings (15, 25, 35, 45, 55 lb).

Guidevio's read

  • Starts at 15 lb, which is heavy for some beginner shoulder work.
  • Quick twist changes, but in big 10 lb jumps.

Before you buy: The coarser 10 lb jump between settings means lifters who want fine-grained progression should compare against systems with smaller increments.

$389.00-$398.00 — seen on fedfitness.com · Best for Buyers who want a dial-style twist system at a lower price than Bowflex or NordicTrackCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
8Best plate-loaded for heavy liftingTitan Fitness

200 LB Set Adjustable Chrome Dumbbells

Titan Fitness

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

200 LB Set Adjustable Chrome Dumbbells

This set includes two dumbbells adjustable from 5 to 100 lb each using loose chrome plates in 2.5, 5, and 10 lb increments, plus lock collars, according to the official Titan Fitness listing.

Why it is on this list: It represents the plate-loaded category at the heavy end, letting lifters build up to 100 lb per hand using standard chrome plates rather than a proprietary dial cartridge.

Key features

  • 5 to 100 lb per dumbbell
  • Precision plates in 2.5, 5, and 10 lb increments
  • Chrome-coated plates and handles
  • Medium knurling, 25mm handle diameter
  • Includes two 19.5-in threaded dumbbells, four lock collars, and 24 weight plates total
  • Weight range: 5 to 100 lb per dumbbell
  • Handle length: 19.5 in
  • Handle diameter: 25mm
Pros
  • Very high top weight per dumbbell for the category
  • Standard threaded/collar design means individual plates can be swapped or replaced
  • 1-year warranty included per the product page
Cons
  • Changing weight requires manually threading plates on and off rather than a dial or pin
  • Loading to the full 100 lb takes noticeably longer between sets than a dial system

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
90 lb+ per hand
How you change weight
Plate-loaded

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 5 to 100 lb per dumbbell.
  • 19.5 in handle, 25 mm diameter.

Guidevio's read

  • The highest top weight in the guide.
  • Plate-loaded, so weight changes are slower.

Before you buy: Because weight changes require loading and securing plates by hand, this suits home gyms doing straight sets more than fast circuit-style training with frequent weight changes.

$414.97 (regular $509.99) — seen on titan.fitness · Best for Lifters who want a traditional plate-and-collar system with a very high top weightCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
9Best budget plate-loaded optionYes4All

Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Weight Plates/Connector

Yes4All

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Weight Plates/Connector

This cast-iron plate-loaded set includes two 14-inch handles, weight plates, collars, and a connector bar to combine both dumbbells into a barbell, based on the Amazon product listing.

Why it is on this list: It's a widely sold, low-cost plate-loaded entry point, with a published price and included connector bar for barbell-style use, verified directly on the retailer listing.

Key features

  • 14-inch cast iron handles with 5 lb and 8 lb plates and collars
  • Includes a dumbbell connector to combine both handles into a barbell
  • Diamond-knurled chrome handle
  • Black paint finish for rust resistance
  • Material: Cast iron, stainless steel
  • Configuration: 40 lb pair or larger, per listing size options up to 200 lb
Pros
  • Low upfront cost compared to dial or block systems
  • Connector bar adds barbell-style versatility
  • Widely available with fast shipping through major retailers
Cons
  • Weight changes require manually adding/removing plates and threading collars, not a quick dial
  • Cast iron plates and painted finish are more prone to chipping than coated dial-system plates

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per handUnder $100
How you change weight
Plate-loaded

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • Cast iron plates; 40 lb pair or larger, with listing options up to 200 lb.

Guidevio's read

  • Start with the 40 lb set and buy bigger later.
  • Plate-loaded with a connector bar option.

Before you buy: This is a manual plate system rather than a quick-adjust mechanism, so expect more time between weight changes than the dial or twist-lock picks in this guide.

$58.41 — seen on amazon.com · Best for Budget-conscious buyers who don't mind manually loading platesCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page
10Lower-cost alternativeMarcy

Marcy 40 lbs. Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Carrying Case (ADS-42)

Marcy

We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.

Open product page

Marcy 40 lbs. Adjustable Dumbbell Set with Carrying Case (ADS-42)

This cast-iron plate-loaded set totals 40 lb across two handles with four 5 lb and four 3 lb plates, spin-lock collars, and a carrying case, per the Walmart listing.

Why it is on this list: At under $40, it's one of the least expensive adjustable dumbbell sets with a listed price and a case for portability, giving budget buyers a genuine lower-cost entry point beyond the Yes4All set.

Key features

  • Two threaded handles plus four 5 lb and four 3 lb plates
  • Spin-lock collars to secure plates
  • Includes carrying case
  • Cast iron construction
  • Total set weight: 40 lb (bars and collars weigh 8 lb)
  • Dimensions: 18 x 4.5 x 13.5 in
  • Material: Cast iron
Pros
  • Lowest published price point among the plate-loaded picks in this guide
  • Carrying case included for portability
  • Simple spin-lock collar mechanism
Cons
  • Total 40 lb weight is limited for more advanced lifters
  • Manual plate loading is slower than dial or twist systems

Who it fits

How heavy you lift
Up to ~55 lb per handUnder $100
How you change weight
Plate-loaded

From the manufacturer / retailer listing

  • 40 lb total set weight (bars and collars weigh 8 lb), with carrying case.

Guidevio's read

  • About 20 lb per hand when split, so best for beginners and light work.
  • Plate-loaded and portable.

Before you buy: The 40 lb total across two dumbbells caps out around 20 lb per hand once split evenly, so check this against your target training weight before buying.

$39.99 — seen on walmart.com · Best for Buyers who want the lowest-cost adjustable option with portabilityCheck price at AmazonOfficial product page

How the top picks actually differ

Dial and twist mechanisms versus plate-loaded systems

Dial-based systems like the Bowflex SelectTech line and NordicTrack Select-A-Weight let a lifter change weight in seconds by turning a selector, which suits circuit training and supersets. Twist-handle designs such as the Core Home Fitness set and FLYBIRD DB2 work similarly but use a rotating handle instead of a separate dial. Traditional plate-and-collar sets, such as the Titan Fitness, Yes4All, and Marcy options, require manually sliding plates on and off and securing them with collars or a locking sleeve, which takes longer between sets but generally costs less per pound of resistance.

Weight range and increment size

Weight range varies widely across this list, from Marcy's 40 lb total set up to Titan Fitness's 100 lb per dumbbell and PowerBlock's expandable-to-90 lb block system. Increment size also differs: Bowflex and NordicTrack publish full weight ladders in roughly 2.5 to 5 lb steps, while FLYBIRD's DB2 jumps in larger 10 lb increments and plate-loaded sets depend on which individual plates are combined.

Included accessories: cradles, stands, and cases

Several picks ship with storage accessories: Bowflex's dial dumbbells and NordicTrack's Select-A-Weight include fitted storage trays, Core Home Fitness includes an aluminum cradle, and Marcy's plate-loaded set ships with a carrying case. PowerBlock's page did not state an included stand for the Elite USA 90, and Titan Fitness's plate-loaded set does not list a stand as included, so buyers who want dedicated storage should check each product page before assuming one is bundled.

App connectivity

Among the systems checked, Bowflex's 552i is confirmed by the official Bowflex UK page to sync with the JRNY app for adaptive weight recommendations, coaching, and tracking, and NordicTrack's Select-A-Weight bundles a 30-day iFIT trial. A separate connected dumbbell brand, JAXJOX DumbbellConnect, was found in search results but its manufacturer has ceased operations and the product is listed out of stock, so it was not included as a current pick.

Who should choose what

  • If you prioritise a fast weight change between sets

    the Bowflex SelectTech 552 or 552i, or the NordicTrack Select-A-Weight, all of which use a turning dial mechanism.

  • If you need to load past 55 lb per hand

    the Bowflex SelectTech 1090, the PowerBlock Elite USA 90, or the Titan Fitness 200 LB plate-loaded set.

  • If you want app-based tracking built in

    the Bowflex SelectTech 552i with JRNY, or the NordicTrack Select-A-Weight with its bundled iFIT trial.

  • If your budget is under $100

    the Marcy ADS-42 or the Amazon Basics 38 lb set, both plate-loaded and sold with a carrying case.

  • If you want a system that expands over time rather than a fixed maximum

    the PowerBlock Elite USA 90, which supports separate expansion kits.

  • If you dislike dials or pins and prefer a simple twist action

    the Core Home Fitness Adjustable Dumbbell Set or the FLYBIRD DB2.

  • If you want the ability to convert dumbbells into a barbell

    the Yes4All Adjustable Dumbbell Set, which includes a connector bar.

Common questions

Are adjustable dumbbells as durable as fixed-weight dumbbells?
Manufacturer pages describe metal locking mechanisms and coated or chrome plates designed for repeated use, but durability depends on build quality and how the plates are secured. Check the materials and warranty listed on each product's official page before buying.
What increment size should I look for?
Smaller increments, such as the roughly 2.5 lb steps published for the Bowflex SelectTech line, allow more gradual progressive overload. Larger jumps, like the 10 lb steps on the FLYBIRD DB2, mean fewer settings to select between but less fine control.
Do adjustable dumbbells come with a stand?
Not always. Several picks in this guide, including the Bowflex SelectTech dumbbells, sell the matching stand separately, while the Core Home Fitness set includes an aluminum cradle and Marcy's plate-loaded set includes a carrying case. Check each official listing for what is bundled.
Can I use adjustable dumbbells as a barbell?
Some plate-loaded sets, such as the Yes4All set in this guide, include a connector bar so both handles can be joined into a single barbell. Dial and twist systems generally do not offer this.
Are app-connected adjustable dumbbells worth it?
The Bowflex SelectTech 552i syncs with the JRNY app for adaptive weight recommendations and tracking, per Bowflex's official page, but a subscription is required for full features after any trial period. Whether that's worth it depends on whether you'll use the guided workout content.
What's the cheapest way to get adjustable dumbbells?
Of the products checked for this guide, the Marcy ADS-42 plate-loaded set was listed at $39.99 on Walmart's site, the lowest verified price among the ten picks.
Do I need a large weight range, or is a lower range enough?
That depends on your training goals. Beginners doing accessory work such as curls or lateral raises may be well served by a 5-50 lb range like the Core Home Fitness set, while lifters doing heavy presses or rows may need the 90-100 lb per-dumbbell range offered by the Bowflex 1090, PowerBlock Elite USA 90, or Titan Fitness plate-loaded set.
Is a pin/block system better than a dial system?
Both are quick-adjust designs; the difference is mainly ergonomic. Dial systems like Bowflex's use a rotating selector, while PowerBlock's Elite USA uses a sliding pin through a stacked block. Neither mechanism was tested for this guide; the comparison is based on published manufacturer descriptions only.
What are the best adjustable dumbbells for beginners?
Most beginners are well served by a set that tops out around 50–55 lb per hand: the Bowflex SelectTech 552, NordicTrack 55 lb Select-A-Weight or Core Home Fitness 5–50 lb. If you're not sure home training will stick, the Yes4All or Marcy plate-loaded sets cost far less. The FLYBIRD DB2 starts at 15 lb and jumps in 10 lb steps, which can be awkward for lighter exercises.

Sources consulted

Official product pages, specification sheets and retailer listings used to compile this guide.

A height-adjustable standing desk in a sunlit home office
Work From Home10 picks

The Best Standing Desks for a Home Office in 2026

Ten current standing desks, spanning budget frames, mid-range electric sit-stand desks, a premium build, a compact desk, and a converter, compared on published height range, weight capacity, and warranty.

Updated September 22, 202613 min
Well-worn leather hiking boots on a rocky ridge above a forested valley
Hiking10 picks

The Best Hiking Boots of 2026

Ten current hiking boots and shoes compared by weight, waterproofing, upper material and sole, covering budget mids, lightweight trail shoes, leather backpacking boots and premium mountain models.

Updated September 22, 202615 min
A woman training on an indoor rowing machine in a bright home gym
Fitness10 picks

Best Rowing Machines of 2026: Top 10 Rowers for Home Gyms

Ten currently sold rowing machines compared on published resistance type, screen size, dimensions and price, from the classic Concept2 to smart connected rowers from Hydrow and Ergatta.

Updated September 28, 202613 min

One useful email a week

New guides, revisions to existing ones with a note on what changed and why, and price moves worth knowing about. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.