Best Camping Lanterns of 2026: Rechargeable, Battery, and Solar Picks
Ten currently sold camping lanterns across rechargeable, battery, and solar power types, compared on published lumens, runtime, and price from official brand websites.
How this guide was built: Guidevio compiled it from manufacturers' official product pages and specifications. We did not buy, borrow or test any of these lanterns, and nothing here is a lab result, a review score, or a sponsored placement. Prices are shown only where we saw them on an official brand page and can change at any time. All links in this guide go straight to the brand's official page and earn nothing today; there are no Amazon affiliate links in this guide.

This guide rounds up ten camping lanterns that were confirmed for sale on manufacturer sites at the time of research, spanning USB-rechargeable, battery-powered, solar, and hybrid designs across a range of prices. Every lantern here is a real, named product with a working product page; nothing has been invented, and prices, specs and features are quoted only where a brand publishes them. Where a spec wasn't published or a price wasn't shown on the official page, this guide says so rather than guessing.
Lantern power types vary widely: some run on built-in rechargeable batteries, some take disposable batteries like AA or D-cell, some charge via solar panel, and a few hybrids can do more than one. This guide reports only what each brand states about its own lantern on its own product page — it does not run independent runtime or brightness tests or compare one brand's lumen rating against another's beyond what's published.
None of these lanterns has been tested by Guidevio. This is desk research built from manufacturer product pages. Considerations, pros and cons reflect what brands themselves publish, plus general category knowledge about tradeoffs like rechargeable versus disposable-battery power — not a scored or awarded verdict from Guidevio.
Who this guide is for
- Campers who want a rechargeable lantern they can top up via USB at a campsite or in the car
- Backup and emergency-prep shoppers who prefer a lantern that runs on easy-to-replace disposable batteries
- Backpackers and off-grid campers who want a solar-rechargeable or hybrid-powered option
- Value-conscious campers who want a reliable budget lantern under $30
- Anyone comparing published lumens, runtime, and price before buying a camping lantern
How we chose
- Only lanterns with a live, working page on a manufacturer's site at the time of research were included
- Every URL cited in the underlying research was checked rather than assumed from a search snippet
- Prices, runtimes, and lumen ratings are quoted only where a brand states them
- The list spans budget, mid-range, and premium lanterns across rechargeable, battery, solar, and hybrid power types
- No lantern in this guide has been tested or used by Guidevio; descriptions are drawn from published product information
- Where a brand does not publish a price or full spec sheet, this is noted as unconfirmed or Not published rather than estimated
Top 10 at a glance
Specifications as published by the manufacturer or the listing we consulted. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Pick | Best for | Power type | Lumens | Price | Official site |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Lighthouse Core Lantern & USB Power Hub | Campers who want a rechargeable lantern that can also charge small devices | USB rechargeable | 430 | $59.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 2. Crush Light | Budget-minded campers who want solar recharging as a backup option | Solar / USB rechargeable | Not published | $29.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 3. Moji Lantern | Budget shoppers who want a simple battery lantern from a trusted brand | Battery | Not published | $29.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 4. Apollo Lantern | Campers who want the flexibility of both rechargeable and AA-battery power | Hybrid (rechargeable or AA) | 250 | $69.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 5. AlpenGlow 250 | Campers who want customizable lighting color in a compact package | USB-C rechargeable | 250 | $59.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 6. AlpenGlow 500 | Campers who want higher brightness and a bigger battery than the AlpenGlow 250 | USB-C rechargeable | 500 | $79.95 (regular price) | Visit |
| 7. 400 Lumens Classic Rechargeable LED Lantern | Campers who want a classic-style lantern with modern USB charging | Rechargeable | 400 | $75.49 (regular price) | Visit |
| 8. PackLite Titan 2-in-1 Power Lantern | Off-grid campers who want solar charging plus phone-charging capability | Solar / USB rechargeable | Not published | $88.00 (regular/sale price as listed on brand site) | Visit |
| 9. The Siege | Campers who want a rugged, long-runtime lantern with emergency features | D-cell battery | 540 | See current price at Streamlight | Visit |
| 10. Vision Hybrid Lantern | Campers who want maximum brightness and flexible battery options | Hybrid (rechargeable or AA) | Up to 1,250 | See current price at Energizer | Visit |
The ten picks in detail
Lighthouse Core Lantern & USB Power Hub
Goal Zero
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageLighthouse Core Lantern & USB Power Hub
430 lumens with USB power-hub functionality
A USB-rechargeable lantern from Goal Zero rated at 430 lumens, with a 1A USB output so it can also double as a power hub for small devices.
Why it is on this list: It's a well-specified rechargeable lantern with a published lumen rating, long low-mode runtime, and the added utility of a USB power hub.
Key features
- 430 lumens
- USB rechargeable with 1A output
- Up to 350 hours runtime on low, up to 4 hours on high
- Lumens: 430
- Power: USB rechargeable
- Runtime: Up to 350 hours (low) / 4 hours (high)
- Weight: 0.8 lbs
- Pros
- 430 lumens on the brand's spec sheet
- Doubles as a USB power hub with 1A output, per Goal Zero
- Up to 350 hours of runtime on low
- Cons
- Only 4 hours of runtime on high
- Requires USB charging; no disposable-battery backup mode
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Runtime on high is short at 4 hours; plan around USB charging access rather than disposable batteries.
Crush Light
Goal Zero
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageCrush Light
Solar or USB recharging with a candle-flicker mode
A compact solar-rechargeable lantern from Goal Zero with three light settings plus a flickering candle mode, chargeable via USB or its built-in solar panel.
Why it is on this list: It's a low-cost lantern with dual-recharge flexibility (solar or USB), useful as a backup light source off-grid.
Key features
- Three light settings plus flickering candle mode
- Solar panel and USB recharging
- Lumens: Not published
- Power: Solar or USB rechargeable
- Pros
- Can recharge via USB or built-in solar panel
- Includes a flickering candle mode alongside three standard settings
- Low price at $29.95
- Cons
- Goal Zero does not publish a lumen rating for this lantern
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
- Compact size may mean lower output than larger lanterns
Before you buy: Lumen output is not published by Goal Zero, so brightness can't be directly compared to other picks.
Moji Lantern
Black Diamond
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageMoji Lantern
Low price from an established outdoor brand
Black Diamond's compact, low-cost battery-powered lantern from its lanterns collection.
Why it is on this list: It's Black Diamond's most affordable lantern, giving budget shoppers a battery-powered option from a well-known brand.
Key features
- Battery-powered design
- Lumens: Not published
- Power: Battery
- Pros
- Lowest price on this list at $29.95
- From an established outdoor-lighting brand
- Cons
- Black Diamond does not publish lumens or other specs for this exact model on the collection page
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
- Power source (battery type) not detailed on the collection page
Before you buy: Full specs, including lumens, are not published on the collection page; see the brand's spec sheet for details before buying.
Apollo Lantern
Black Diamond
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageApollo Lantern
Hybrid rechargeable/AA power with USB charge-out and dimming modes
A hybrid lantern from Black Diamond rated at 250 lumens on its QuadPower LED max setting, running on an internal rechargeable lithium-ion battery or 3 AA batteries, with a USB port for charging other devices.
Why it is on this list: It's a flexible hybrid-power lantern with a published lumen rating and the ability to run on rechargeable battery or standard AA cells.
Key features
- 250 lumens (QuadPower LED, max setting)
- Internal rechargeable lithium-ion battery (2,600 mAh) or 3 AA batteries
- USB port charges handheld electronics
- Strobe and dimming modes
- Lumens: 250 (max)
- Power: Rechargeable Li-ion (2,600 mAh) or 3 AA batteries
- Extras: USB charge-out, strobe and dimming modes
- Pros
- Hybrid power: internal rechargeable battery or 3 AA batteries
- 250 lumens on max setting, per Black Diamond
- USB port for charging handheld electronics
- Cons
- At $69.95, pricier than the brand's Moji lantern
- Runtime figures not specified in the research
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Confirm current price on Black Diamond's site, as this is a mid-range price point relative to other picks here.
AlpenGlow 250
BioLite
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageAlpenGlow 250
ChromaReal LED with warm/cool white and multicolor modes
A 250-lumen USB-C rechargeable lantern from BioLite using ChromaReal LED technology, with warm/cool white and multicolor light modes in a compact, packable size.
Why it is on this list: It's a compact, feature-rich rechargeable lantern with published color-mode versatility at a mid-range price.
Key features
- 250-lumen USB-C rechargeable lantern
- ChromaReal LED technology with multicolor modes
- Compact/packable size
- Lumens: 250
- Power: USB-C rechargeable
- Pros
- 250 lumens with warm/cool white and multicolor modes
- USB-C rechargeable
- Compact and packable, per BioLite
- Cons
- Runtime figures not specified in the research
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
- Rechargeable-only; no disposable-battery backup
Before you buy: Runtime is not detailed in the research; confirm on BioLite's site before buying.
AlpenGlow 500
BioLite
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageAlpenGlow 500
500 lumens with a 6,400 mAh battery and a party-mode accelerometer feature
BioLite's brighter 500-lumen sibling to the AlpenGlow 250, with a 6,400 mAh (23.6 Wh) Li-Ion battery, cool/warm white and multicolor LED modes, and a 'Shake to Party' accelerometer feature.
Why it is on this list: It's BioLite's higher-capacity, higher-output lantern for campers who want more brightness and battery than the AlpenGlow 250.
Key features
- 500 lumens
- 6,400 mAh (23.6 Wh) Li-Ion battery
- Cool/warm white and multicolor LED modes
- 'Shake to Party' accelerometer feature
- Lumens: 500
- Power: 6,400 mAh (23.6 Wh) Li-Ion rechargeable
- Pros
- 500 lumens with a large 6,400 mAh battery
- Cool/warm white and multicolor LED modes
- Novel 'Shake to Party' accelerometer feature
- Cons
- At $79.95, the priciest BioLite pick on this list
- Runtime figures not specified in the research
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Runtime is not detailed in the research; confirm on BioLite's site before buying.
400 Lumens Classic Rechargeable LED Lantern
Coleman
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product page400 Lumens Classic Rechargeable LED Lantern
Classic Coleman lantern styling with a built-in rechargeable battery and USB charge-out
Coleman's classic-style rechargeable LED lantern with a built-in lithium-ion battery, 400 lumens on high, and a USB port for charging mobile devices.
Why it is on this list: It's a well-known classic-style lantern updated with a rechargeable battery and USB charging, from one of the best-known camping brands.
Key features
- Built-in lithium-ion rechargeable battery
- 400 lumens on high
- Runtime up to 5 hours on high, 20 hours on low
- USB charging port for mobile devices
- Carabiner-style handle
- Lumens: 400 (high)
- Power: Built-in lithium-ion rechargeable
- Runtime: Up to 5 hours (high) / 20 hours (low)
- Pros
- 400 lumens on high
- Up to 20 hours of runtime on low
- USB charging port for mobile devices and a carabiner-style handle
- Cons
- Only up to 5 hours of runtime on high
- At $75.49, one of the pricier mid-range picks
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: High-mode runtime is short at 5 hours; plan for low-mode use for longer trips.
PackLite Titan 2-in-1 Power Lantern
LuminAID
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pagePackLite Titan 2-in-1 Power Lantern
Solar-rechargeable inflatable lantern that also charges phones, waterproof, up to 100 hours runtime
A solar-rechargeable, inflatable lantern from LuminAID with a built-in battery pack for phone charging, also rechargeable via USB, rated for up to 100 hours of runtime per charge and waterproof.
Why it is on this list: It's a premium solar/USB hybrid lantern with the added utility of phone charging, aimed at off-grid and backpacking campers.
Key features
- Solar-rechargeable inflatable lantern with built-in battery pack for phone charging
- Also rechargeable via USB
- Up to 100 hours runtime per charge
- Waterproof
- Lumens: Not published
- Power: Solar or USB rechargeable
- Runtime: Up to 100 hours per charge
- Pros
- Solar-rechargeable with USB as a backup charging option
- Doubles as a phone charger via its built-in battery pack
- Up to 100 hours of runtime per charge and waterproof design
- Cons
- At $88.00, the most expensive pick on this list
- Lumen rating not specified in the research
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Lumen output is not published in the research; confirm on LuminAID's site if brightness is a priority.
The Siege
Streamlight
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageThe Siege
Rugged 540-lumen lantern with red night-vision mode, SOS flash, and IPX7 waterproof rating that floats
A rugged, 540-lumen battery-powered lantern from Streamlight running on three D-cell alkaline batteries, with a red LED night-vision mode, SOS flash, IPX7 waterproof rating, and floats.
Why it is on this list: It's a durability-focused lantern with published impact and waterproof ratings plus long low-mode runtime, aimed at campers who prioritize toughness and emergency features.
Key features
- 540 lumens (high), runs 30 hours on high, up to 295 hours on low
- Red LED night-vision mode with SOS flash
- Uses three D-cell alkaline batteries
- IPX7 waterproof, floats
- 2m impact resistance tested
- Lumens: 540 (high)
- Power: Three D-cell alkaline batteries
- Runtime: 30 hours (high) / up to 295 hours (low)
- Water resistance: IPX7, floats
- Pros
- 540 lumens on high, with up to 295 hours of runtime on low
- Red LED night-vision mode with SOS flash
- IPX7 waterproof and floats, with 2m impact resistance tested
- Cons
- Price not shown on the official product page; unconfirmed
- Uses disposable D-cell batteries rather than rechargeable power
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Price is not published on Streamlight's site; check current price directly. Uses disposable D-cell batteries, not rechargeable.
Vision Hybrid Lantern
Energizer
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageVision Hybrid Lantern
Up to 1,250 lumens with hybrid rechargeable-or-AA power and USB charge-out
An Energizer lantern rated up to 1,250 lumens on high, using Flexible Hybrid Powered technology so it runs on either a rechargeable battery or 4 AA batteries, with a USB port for charging devices.
Why it is on this list: It's the brightest lantern in this guide by published lumens, with the flexibility to run on rechargeable power or standard AA batteries.
Key features
- Up to 1,250 lumens on high
- Flexible Hybrid Powered technology (rechargeable or 4 AA batteries)
- USB port out for charging devices
- IPX4 water resistant
- Up to 70 hours runtime on low (rechargeable) or 30 hours (AA)
- Lumens: Up to 1,250 (high)
- Power: Rechargeable or 4 AA batteries
- Runtime: Up to 70 hours (rechargeable, low) / 30 hours (AA)
- Water resistance: IPX4
- Pros
- Up to 1,250 lumens on high, the brightest rated pick on this list
- Flexible Hybrid Powered technology: rechargeable or 4 AA batteries
- USB port out for charging other devices
- Cons
- Price not shown on the official product page; unconfirmed
- Only IPX4 water resistance, lower than Streamlight's The Siege
- No confirmed current-model Amazon listing
Before you buy: Price is not published on Energizer's site; check current price directly. Water resistance (IPX4) is lower than some other picks here.
How the top picks actually differ
Power type
USB or USB-C rechargeable models — the Goal Zero Lighthouse Core, BioLite AlpenGlow 250 and 500, and the Coleman 400 Lumens Classic — suit campers with regular access to a car charger or power bank. Hybrid designs like the Black Diamond Apollo and Energizer Vision Hybrid let you fall back on AA batteries when you can't recharge, while the Streamlight Siege runs entirely on D-cell batteries for maximum simplicity and shelf-stable emergency use. Solar options — the Goal Zero Crush Light and LuminAID PackLite Titan — add independence from any outlet, with the LuminAID also functioning as a phone charger.
Brightness
On brightness, the Energizer Vision Hybrid's published up to 1,250 lumens is the highest figure in this guide, followed by the Streamlight Siege at 540 lumens and the BioLite AlpenGlow 500 at 500 lumens; several lower-cost picks, including the Goal Zero Crush Light and Black Diamond Moji, don't publish a lumen figure at all.
Price
Price ranges from $29.95 for the Goal Zero Crush Light and Black Diamond Moji up to $88.00 for the LuminAID PackLite Titan, with the Streamlight Siege and Energizer Vision Hybrid both unconfirmed on price.
Who should choose what
You want the brightest published lumens
Energizer Vision Hybrid Lantern (up to 1,250 lumens)
You want rugged durability and emergency features
Streamlight The Siege (IPX7 waterproof, floats, SOS mode)
You want solar independence plus phone charging
LuminAID PackLite Titan 2-in-1 Power Lantern
You want a budget rechargeable lantern
Goal Zero Lighthouse Core Lantern & USB Power Hub
You want the lowest price overall
Goal Zero Crush Light or Black Diamond Moji Lantern (both $29.95)
You want flexible rechargeable-or-AA power
Black Diamond Apollo Lantern or Energizer Vision Hybrid Lantern
Common questions
- What's the difference between rechargeable and battery-powered camping lanterns?
- Rechargeable lanterns, like the Goal Zero Lighthouse Core and BioLite AlpenGlow models, use a built-in battery you top up via USB or USB-C. Battery-powered lanterns, like the Streamlight Siege, use disposable batteries (D-cell in that case) that you swap out. Hybrid models, like the Black Diamond Apollo and Energizer Vision Hybrid, can do either, giving you a backup option if you can't recharge.
- How many lumens do I need in a camping lantern?
- This guide includes lanterns ranging from unpublished lumen ratings up to a published 1,250 lumens on the Energizer Vision Hybrid. Brighter isn't always better for close-range campsite tasks; check each brand's product page for its specific lumen rating and runtime tradeoffs at different brightness settings.
- Are solar camping lanterns reliable without sun exposure?
- Both solar picks in this guide — the Goal Zero Crush Light and LuminAID PackLite Titan — also support USB charging as a backup, according to their brand pages, so you're not solely dependent on sunlight.
- Which lantern is best for emergency preparedness?
- The Streamlight The Siege runs on widely available D-cell alkaline batteries rather than requiring recharging, and its brand page lists an IPX7 waterproof rating, floating design, and a red LED night-vision mode with SOS flash, which are features often valued in emergency-prep contexts.
- Do any of these lanterns also charge phones or other devices?
- Several do, per their brand pages: the Goal Zero Lighthouse Core (USB power hub), Black Diamond Apollo (USB port), Coleman 400 Lumens Classic (USB charging port), LuminAID PackLite Titan (built-in battery pack for phone charging), and Energizer Vision Hybrid (USB port out).
- Has Guidevio tested any of these lanterns?
- No. This guide is based on desk research from official manufacturer product pages, not hands-on testing. See the transparency note above for details.
Sources consulted
Official product pages, specification sheets and retailer listings used to compile this guide.
- https://blackdiamondequipment.com/products/apollo-lantern
- https://blackdiamondequipment.com/collections/lanterns
- https://goalzero.com/products/lighthouse-core-lantern-usb-power-hub
- https://goalzero.com/collections/solar-rechargable-lanterns
- https://www.coleman.com/camp-sports/lighting/lanterns/battery-lanterns/400-lumens-classic-rechargeable-led-lantern/SP_1479548.html
- https://luminaid.com/collections/power-lanterns
- https://www.bioliteenergy.com/products/alpenglow-250
- https://www.bioliteenergy.com/products/alpenglow-500
- https://www.streamlight.com/products/detail/the-siege
- https://energizer.com/product/lighting/area-lighting/energizer-vision-hybrid-lantern/
Related guides

Best Headlamps of 2026: Top 10 Headlamps for Camping, Hiking and Backpacking
Ten currently sold headlamps compared on published lumens, runtime, rechargeability and price, spanning ultralight backpacking lamps to rugged rechargeable all-rounders.

Best Camping Tents of 2026: Top 10 Tents for Car Camping and Backpacking
Ten currently sold tents compared on published capacity, weight and price, spanning budget car-camping domes, family instant tents and ultralight backpacking shelters.

Best Camping Chairs of 2026: Top 10 Chairs for Car Camping, Backpacking and the Backyard
Ten currently sold camping chairs spanning ultralight packable frames, rockers, loveseats and heavy-duty quad chairs, compared on published weight, capacity and price.

Best Sleeping Bags of 2026: Top 10 Bags for Car Camping and Backpacking
Ten currently sold sleeping bags compared on published temperature rating, fill, weight and price, spanning budget car-camping bags to premium down backpacking bags.

Best Camping Stoves (2026): Top 10 Backpacking Canister Stoves & Two-Burner Car-Camping Stoves
Ten currently sold camping stoves compared on published price, weight, output and boil time, spanning ultralight backpacking canister stoves to two-burner car-camping stoves.

Best Camping Cookware of 2026: Top 10 Backpacking Pot Sets & Car-Camping Cook Sets
Ten currently sold camping cookware sets compared on published materials, weight, capacity and price, spanning ultralight titanium solo pots to full car-camping enamelware sets for four.
One useful email a week
New guides, revisions to existing ones with a note on what changed and why, and price moves worth knowing about. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.
