Best Dog-Friendly Ski Resorts in the US
Ten US ski and Nordic destinations with a published dog policy — from off-leash uphill and Nordic trails to structured skijoring programs and pet-friendly lodging — pulled from each resort's own official pages.
How this guide was built: Guidevio compiled it from each resort or Nordic center's own official dog/pet policy pages. We did not visit or ski any of these locations as part of building it, and nothing here is a review, a ranking based on personal experience, or a sponsored placement. Dog policies, trail lists and fees can change season to season; always check the official page linked below before a trip. Links go to the official resort or Nordic center page and earn no commission today; if that changes, it will be disclosed here.

Almost no US ski resort allows dogs on chairlifts, groomed alpine slopes or inside lodges — that rule shows up on nearly every official policy page checked for this guide. But a number of resorts and the Nordic/cross-country centers attached to them do publish specific, dog-friendly options: designated off-leash Nordic and snowshoe trails, dedicated dog loops, formal skijoring lesson programs, or pet-friendly lodging with a stated nightly fee. This guide covers ten US destinations with that kind of published policy, so a dog owner can see exactly what is and isn't allowed before planning a trip.
What differs most between these places is the type of access: some, like Granby Ranch and the YMCA of the Rockies' Snow Mountain Ranch, open up a real network of off-leash or pet-friendly Nordic kilometers; others, like Gunstock and Minocqua Winter Park, are built around structured skijoring, with harnesses and lessons rather than casual trail time; and Wintergreen Resort stands apart as a true pet-friendly-lodging property, with dogs allowed in designated rooms and around the base but not on the slopes in winter. None of these places allow dogs on lifts or on the main groomed alpine ski runs during winter operations.
What was checked for each entry: the resort or Nordic center's own dog/pet policy page, including which trails allow dogs, whether a leash or skijoring harness is required, any published fee, and what is explicitly off-limits. Where a fee, trail list, or exception wasn't stated on the page checked, that is noted as 'not published' rather than assumed.
Who this guide is for
- Nordic and cross-country skiers who want to bring a dog on the trail with them
- Uphill skinners looking for resorts that permit dogs on skin tracks
- Skijoring beginners wanting a resort-run lesson program
- Travelers who want pet-friendly lodging at a ski destination, even if the dog can't be on snow
- Dog owners planning a winter trip who need to know exactly where dogs are and aren't allowed before booking
How we chose
- Included only US resorts and Nordic centers with a published dog or pet policy page found during research
- Pulled allowed/not-allowed details directly from each policy page rather than inferring them
- Noted fees exactly as published, marking anything not stated as 'not published'
- Excluded resorts whose official policy explicitly prohibits pets (for example, Smugglers' Notch) or that are not US-based (for example, Whistler Olympic Park) or not resort-run (state parks / nonprofits)
- This is desk research only: no resorts were visited in person to verify current conditions
Top 10 at a glance
Specifications as published by the manufacturer or the listing we consulted. Scroll sideways on a small screen.
| Pick | Best for | Where dogs are allowed | Leash/off-leash rule | Fee | Location | Price | Official site |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Granby Ranch | Uphill skiers and Nordic skiers who want off-leash trail time with a well-trained dog | Upper Mtn. & Golf Nordic Trails, uphill skinning routes | Off-leash allowed if under voice control and in sight; leash required elsewhere | Not published (no fee mentioned) | Granby, Colorado | See current fees at Granby Ranch's official site | Visit |
| 2. Wintergreen Resort | Guests who want true pet-friendly lodging and amenities rather than on-slope dog access | Designated pet-friendly lodging, Mountain Inn lobby, restaurant patios, most hiking trails | Leashed | $50/night non-refundable pet guest fee | Wintergreen, Virginia | $50/night non-refundable pet guest fee, per Wintergreen's own policy page | Visit |
| 3. Burke Mountain Resort — Dashney Nordic Center | Nordic skiers wanting a mostly dog-friendly groomed trail network | Dashney Nordic Center trails (except Sugarwoods, Shortcut) | Not published | Not published for dogs; standard Nordic day-ticket pricing applies | East Burke, Vermont | See current fees at Burke Mountain Resort's official site | Visit |
| 4. YMCA of the Rockies — Snow Mountain Ranch Nordic Center | Families combining YMCA lodging with a large network of dog-permitted Nordic terrain | 40 km of designated pet-friendly Nordic/snowshoe trails | Not published | Not published for dogs; Adult trail pass $29, Child (6–12) $14 | Granby, Colorado | See current fees at YMCA of the Rockies' official site | Visit |
| 5. Gunstock Mountain Resort | Skiers wanting a structured, resort-run skijoring program with their dog | 15 km of XC trails designated for skijoring | Skijoring harness required on designated trails; leashed on campground roads | $112 beginner package / $60 private lesson; Nordic day pass separate | Gilford, New Hampshire | $112 beginner skijoring package; $60 private lesson, per Gunstock's own site | Visit |
| 6. Jackson Ski Touring Foundation | Visitors wanting an instructional introduction to skijoring in a classic New England Nordic setting | Organized skijoring clinics on the trail network | Leashed | No charge for spectators; skier trail pass price not stated | Jackson, New Hampshire | See current fees at Jackson Ski Touring Foundation's official site | Visit |
| 7. Crested Butte Nordic | Nordic skiers near Crested Butte Mountain Resort who want clearly marked, dog-specific trail zones | Town Ranch, Riverbend Trail, Rec Path, West Side dog-friendly trails | Leash required on Rec Path; dogs must stay in sight/under control elsewhere | Free on Town Ranch/Riverbend/Rec Path; skier + dog pass required on West Side trails, price not published | Crested Butte, Colorado | Free on Town Ranch/Riverbend/Rec Path; see current pass prices at Crested Butte Nordic's official site for West Side trails | Visit |
| 8. Craftsbury Outdoor Center | Distance Nordic skiers and snowshoers wanting a lodging-plus-trail dog policy at a dedicated Nordic center | Lakes/west-side trails, Town Hall Loop; limited pet-friendly lodging | Leashed or e-collared | Not published | Craftsbury Common, Vermont | See current fees at Craftsbury Outdoor Center's official site | Visit |
| 9. Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area | Owners wanting a short, purpose-built dog-ski loop rather than mixed-use trails | Dedicated 5 km Dog Loop | Not published | Not published | Huntington, Vermont | See current fees at Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area's official site | Visit |
| 10. Minocqua Winter Park | Casual recreational skiers and snowshoers wanting a low-key, dog-friendly trail outing | Designated Wilderness Trails | Harnessed or leashed at all times | Not published | Minocqua, Wisconsin | See current fees at Minocqua Winter Park's official site | Visit |
The ten picks in detail
Granby Ranch
Granby Ranch
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageGranby Ranch
Dogs may be off-leash on the Upper Mtn. and Golf Nordic Trails and on designated skinning routes, per the resort's own FAQ
Granby Ranch's own FAQ allows dogs off-leash on its Upper Mtn. and Golf Nordic Trails and on designated uphill skinning routes, as long as they are under voice control and in sight, with leashes required elsewhere on the property.
Why it is on this list: Granby Ranch publishes one of the most specific off-leash dog allowances of any resort checked, covering both Nordic skiing and uphill skinning.
Key features
- Off-leash on Upper Mtn. and Golf Nordic Trails under voice control and in sight
- Off-leash on designated uphill skinning routes
- Leash required elsewhere on the property
- Service animals permitted in the base area and buildings
- Dog-friendly terrain: Upper Mtn. and Golf Nordic Trails; designated skinning routes
- Off-leash allowed: Yes, on the trails above, under voice control
- Fee: Not published
- Pros
- Off-leash allowed on Nordic and uphill skinning routes for well-trained dogs
- No fee mentioned on the resort's own dogs FAQ
- Clear published rule set for what is and isn't allowed
- Cons
- No dogs on aerial lifts, in the base area, on alpine trails during operating hours, or inside buildings
- Off-leash privilege requires voice control, so it isn't suited to every dog
Before you buy: No dogs are allowed on aerial lifts, in the base area, on alpine trails during operating hours, or inside buildings; owners must clean up waste.
Wintergreen Resort
Wintergreen Resort
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageWintergreen Resort
Dogs may be on ski slopes in spring, summer and fall when snow-free, per the resort's own lodging policy
Wintergreen Resort's own pet-friendly lodging policy allows dogs in designated 'Dog Friendly' units (up to two dogs, 70 lbs each) and leashed dogs in the Mountain Inn lobby, restaurant patios and most hiking trails, though not on ski slopes during winter operation.
Why it is on this list: Wintergreen is one of the few resorts in this guide with a fully documented pet-friendly lodging program, including a specific fee and weight/count limits.
Key features
- Designated 'Dog Friendly' lodging units, 2-dog max, up to 70 lbs each
- Leashed dogs welcome in Mountain Inn lobby and restaurant exterior patios
- Most hiking trails allow leashed dogs
- All dogs must be registered at check-in and vaccinated
- Fee: $50/night non-refundable pet guest fee
- Dog limit: 2 dogs per unit, up to 70 lbs each
- On-slope access: Snow-free months only
- Pros
- Designated pet-friendly lodging units with a published weight and count limit
- Leashed dogs welcome in the Mountain Inn lobby, restaurant patios and most hiking trails
- Clear published nightly fee
- Cons
- Dogs are not allowed on chairlifts or on ski slopes during ski season/snowmaking
- Not permitted in indoor restaurants, meeting rooms, spa, pools, golf shops or the racquet center
Before you buy: Dogs may not be on chairlifts or on ski slopes when snow is being made or during ski season operation; not permitted in indoor restaurants, meeting rooms, spa, pools, golf shops or the racquet center.
Burke Mountain Resort — Dashney Nordic Center
Burke Mountain Resort
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageBurke Mountain Resort — Dashney Nordic Center
Dogs are allowed throughout the Dashney Nordic Center trail network except for two named trails, per the resort's own page
The Dashney Nordic Center at Burke Mountain Resort allows dogs across its Nordic ski and snowshoe trail network, with the Sugarwoods and Shortcut trails specifically excluded, per the center's own site.
Why it is on this list: Burke's Nordic center publishes one of the broadest dog-friendly trail networks in this guide, with only a short, named exclusion list.
Key features
- Dog access across the Dashney Nordic Center trail network
- Sugarwoods and Shortcut trails excluded
- Nordic day-ticket pricing: $15 full day / $10 after 12:30 pm adult, per the site at time of research
- Dog-friendly terrain: Dashney Nordic Center network, except Sugarwoods and Shortcut trails
- Nordic day ticket (adult): $15 full day / $10 after 12:30 pm
- Dog fee: Not published
- Pros
- Dogs allowed across most of the Nordic/snowshoe trail network
- Straightforward exclusion list (only two named trails off-limits)
- Published day-ticket pricing for the human skier
- Cons
- No specific dog fee or leash rule published on the page checked
- Alpine slopes and lifts are not addressed as dog-accessible; standard no-dog rule applies there
Before you buy: Leash rules and any dog-specific fee were not published on the page checked; confirm current rules directly with Burke before visiting.
YMCA of the Rockies — Snow Mountain Ranch Nordic Center
YMCA of the Rockies
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageYMCA of the Rockies — Snow Mountain Ranch Nordic Center
40 km of pet-friendly Nordic/snowshoe trails, one of the largest dog-accessible networks in this guide, per the YMCA of the Rockies' own site
Snow Mountain Ranch's Nordic Center lists 40 km of its trail network as pet-friendly, plus 6 miles of fat-tire-bike/dog trails, per the YMCA of the Rockies' own site.
Why it is on this list: Snow Mountain Ranch publishes the largest specific pet-friendly trail distance of any Nordic center in this guide.
Key features
- 40 km of pet-friendly Nordic/snowshoe trails
- 6 miles of fat-tire-bike/dog trails
- Day trail passes: Adult $29, Child (6–12) $14
- Pet-friendly trail distance: 40 km
- Additional dog/fat-tire-bike trails: 6 miles
- Adult day trail pass: $29
- Pros
- 40 km of designated pet-friendly Nordic/snowshoe trails
- Additional 6 miles of fat-tire-bike/dog trails
- On-site lodging through the YMCA of the Rockies
- Cons
- Which specific trails fall outside the pet-friendly 40 km isn't published beyond the stated subset
- No dog-specific fee published; standard adult/child trail pass pricing applies
Before you buy: Assume dogs are restricted to the stated 40 km pet-friendly subset; the rest of the network's dog policy was not published on the page checked.
Gunstock Mountain Resort
Gunstock Mountain Resort
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageGunstock Mountain Resort
A formal skijoring lesson program with a published beginner package price of $112, per Gunstock's own site
Gunstock's Nordic Center permits dogs only on 15 km of XC trails designated for skijoring while wearing a skijoring harness, and runs a formal lesson program including a beginner package at $112, per the resort's own site.
Why it is on this list: Gunstock is one of the only resorts in this guide with a named, priced skijoring lesson program rather than informal trail access.
Key features
- 15 km of XC trails designated for skijoring, harness required
- Beginner skijoring package: 1-hour lesson, trail pass, equipment, $112
- Private skijoring lesson: $60
- Nordic day trail passes: Adult (30–59) $22–$26
- Skijoring trail distance: 15 km
- Beginner package: $112 (1-hour lesson, trail pass, equipment)
- Private lesson: $60
- Pros
- Formal, resort-run skijoring lesson program with published pricing
- 15 km of trails specifically designated for skijoring
- Leashed dog walking allowed on campground roads
- Cons
- Pets are not permitted on any other snow surfaces, including alpine trails, base area or the tubing hill
- Requires a skijoring harness and, for lessons, a dog and skier aged 12+ with cross-country experience
Before you buy: Pets are not permitted on any snow surfaces outside the designated skijoring trails, and not permitted in dining facilities; lessons require the dog/skier to be 12+ with cross-country experience.
Jackson Ski Touring Foundation
Jackson Ski Touring Foundation
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageJackson Ski Touring Foundation
Organized skijoring clinics with leashed dogs welcome on the touring center's trail network, per the event page
Jackson Ski Touring Foundation hosts organized skijoring clinics where well-behaved, leashed dogs are welcome on its Nordic trail network, per its own event page, with a season or day trail pass required for skiers.
Why it is on this list: Jackson XC offers a named clinic-based introduction to skijoring, distinct from the resort-run lesson program at Gunstock.
Key features
- Skijoring clinics on the Nordic trail network
- No charge for spectators
- Season or day trail pass required for skiers
- Clinic access: Leashed dogs welcome at organized skijoring clinics
- Spectator fee: None
- Skier pass: Season or day trail pass required, price not stated
- Pros
- Organized skijoring clinics on a classic New England Nordic trail network
- No charge for spectators
- Leashed dogs welcome at clinic events
- Cons
- General dog-on-trail policy outside clinic days isn't published and should be confirmed directly with Jackson XC
- Day/season trail pass price for skiers not stated on the page checked
Before you buy: General trail/dog policy for non-clinic days should be confirmed directly on jacksonxc.org before visiting, since it was not published on the page checked.
Crested Butte Nordic
Crested Butte Nordic
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageCrested Butte Nordic
Dedicated West Side dog trails named Pooch's Paradise, Beaver Trail and Mike's Mile, per the center's own dog policy page
Crested Butte Nordic's own dog policy designates specific dog-friendly trails — Town Ranch and Riverbend Trail with no pass required, the Rec Path on leash, and West Side trails requiring both a skier pass and a dog pass.
Why it is on this list: Crested Butte Nordic publishes the most tiered, trail-by-trail dog policy of any network in this guide, serving guests of Crested Butte Mountain Resort.
Key features
- Town Ranch and Riverbend Trail: dog-friendly, no pass required
- Rec Path: dog-friendly, leash required, no pass
- West Side trails (Pooch's Paradise, Beaver Trail, Mike's Mile): skier pass plus dog pass required
- Maximum two dogs per skier
- Free dog trails: Town Ranch, Riverbend Trail
- Leash-required, no-pass trail: Rec Path
- Pass-required dog trails: West Side (Pooch's Paradise, Beaver Trail, Mike's Mile)
- Pros
- Multiple tiers of dog-friendly trails, from free to pass-required
- Town Ranch, Riverbend Trail and the Rec Path require no dog pass
- Clearly named West Side trails (Pooch's Paradise, Beaver Trail, Mike's Mile) built for dogs
- Cons
- West Side dog-friendly trails require both a skier pass and a separate dog pass, priced separately and not published on this page
- Maximum two dogs per skier, and dogs must stay in sight/under control
Before you buy: Dogs are not allowed on non-designated trails, and the Rec Path requires a leash even though no pass is needed there; West Side dog pass pricing was not published on this page.
Craftsbury Outdoor Center
Craftsbury Outdoor Center
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageCraftsbury Outdoor Center
Limited pet-friendly lodging combined with named dog-friendly ski/snowshoe trails, per the center's own dog policy page
Craftsbury Outdoor Center's own dog policy allows leashed or e-collared dogs on select ski/snowshoe trails, including the Lakes and adjacent trails west of Lost Nation Road and the Town Hall Loop in Greensboro, with limited pet-friendly lodging available.
Why it is on this list: Craftsbury is one of the few Nordic centers in this guide that pairs a specific dog-friendly trail list with on-site pet-friendly lodging.
Key features
- Dog-friendly trails: the Lakes and adjacent trails west of Lost Nation Road
- Dog-friendly trail: Town Hall Loop in Greensboro
- Limited pet-friendly lodging available
- Dog-friendly trails: Lakes and adjacent trails west of Lost Nation Road; Town Hall Loop (Greensboro)
- Lodging: Limited pet-friendly units available
- Fee: Not published; owner billed for damage
- Pros
- Named dog-friendly trail sections, including the Lakes trails and the Town Hall Loop
- Limited pet-friendly lodging on-site
- Clear list of what's excluded (snowshoe-only trails, singletrack, rollerski loop, waterfront)
- Cons
- No dog fee published; owners are billed for any damage caused by their dog
- Dogs prohibited on the Center's snowshoe-only trails and singletrack in winter
Before you buy: Dogs are prohibited on the Center's snowshoe-only trails and singletrack in winter, on the rollerski loop, at the waterfront, and inside or at the entrances of the Activity Center, Dining Hall and Main Office.
Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area
Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageCamel's Hump Nordic Ski Area
A dedicated 5-kilometer groomed Dog Loop, one of the only purpose-built dog trails in this guide
Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area offers a dedicated groomed 5-kilometer Dog Loop where dogs are welcome, separate from the rest of its 35+ mile trail network, per its listing on Ski Vermont's site.
Why it is on this list: Camel's Hump is the only entry in this guide with a trail built and named specifically for dogs rather than a shared or designated-use trail.
Key features
- Dedicated groomed 5 km Dog Loop
- Part of a larger 35+ mile Nordic trail network
- Dog Loop distance: 5 km, groomed
- Total trail network: 35+ miles
- Fee: Not published
- Pros
- A dedicated, groomed 5 km loop built specifically for dogs
- Keeps dogs separate from the main trail network, useful for shared trail etiquette
- Cons
- Dogs are not addressed as permitted on the rest of the 35+ mile network beyond the Dog Loop
- No fee or leash requirement published on this page
Before you buy: Dog access on the rest of the 35+ mile network beyond the Dog Loop is not published; assume dogs are restricted to that loop.
Minocqua Winter Park
Minocqua Winter Park
We only show official or licensed product photography. None is on file for this one yet — see the maker's page for photos.
Open product pageMinocqua Winter Park
Designated Wilderness Trails open to recreational skiing and snowshoeing with dogs, per the park's own page
Minocqua Winter Park permits dogs on its designated Wilderness Trails for recreational skiing and snowshoeing, with dogs required to be harnessed or leashed at all times, including in the parking lot, per its own skijor page.
Why it is on this list: Minocqua Winter Park offers a straightforward, casual dog-trail option distinct from the more structured skijoring programs elsewhere in this guide.
Key features
- Designated Wilderness Trails for recreational skiing/snowshoeing with dogs
- Dogs must be harnessed or leashed at all times, including in the parking lot
- Former dedicated skijor race loop currently unavailable, per the park's own note
- Dog-friendly terrain: Designated Wilderness Trails
- Leash/harness rule: Required at all times, including in the parking lot
- Skijor race loop: Currently unavailable, under route review
- Pros
- Designated Wilderness Trails open to recreational skiing/snowshoeing with dogs
- Low-key, casual setting rather than high-speed skijoring
- Cons
- The former dedicated skijor race loop is currently unavailable while the route is under review
- Dogs must remain outside the Chalet, and dog access off the Wilderness Trails isn't addressed as permitted
Before you buy: Dogs must remain outside the Chalet; the previous skijor race loop is not currently available for skiing with dogs while its route is reviewed.
How the top picks actually differ
Off-leash and pet-friendly Nordic trails vs. structured skijoring programs
Granby Ranch, the YMCA of the Rockies' Snow Mountain Ranch, Burke Mountain's Dashney Nordic Center and Crested Butte Nordic all publish designated Nordic or snowshoe trails where dogs are allowed, ranging from fully off-leash sections at Granby Ranch to leash-required or pass-required zones at Crested Butte. Gunstock and Minocqua Winter Park, by contrast, center their dog access on skijoring, with Gunstock running a priced beginner lesson package and Minocqua requiring a harness or leash on its Wilderness Trails. Jackson Ski Touring Foundation sits between the two, offering skijoring clinics rather than a year-round dog-trail policy.
Lodging-focused dog policies: Wintergreen and Craftsbury
Wintergreen Resort and Craftsbury Outdoor Center both pair dog access with on-site lodging. Wintergreen publishes a specific $50/night pet fee and a 70-lb, two-dog limit for its designated pet-friendly rooms, with leashed dogs also allowed in the Mountain Inn lobby and on most hiking trails, but not on ski slopes during winter operation. Craftsbury offers limited pet-friendly lodging alongside named dog-friendly ski and snowshoe trail sections, with no published fee beyond liability for any damage.
What no resort in this guide allows
Every policy page checked for this guide confirms the same baseline: dogs are not permitted on chairlifts, on groomed alpine ski slopes during winter operation, or inside lodges, dining rooms and other indoor guest spaces, with the narrow exception of ADA service animals. Guests should not assume any location here allows a dog on the main ski hill itself.
Who should choose what
You want off-leash Nordic or uphill skiing with a well-trained dog
Granby Ranch
You want true pet-friendly lodging at a ski resort, even without on-slope access
Wintergreen Resort
You want a mostly dog-friendly Nordic trail network with only a couple of excluded trails
Burke Mountain Resort (Dashney Nordic Center)
You want the largest published pet-friendly Nordic distance
YMCA of the Rockies — Snow Mountain Ranch Nordic Center
You want a formal, priced skijoring lesson program
Gunstock Mountain Resort
You want an instructional skijoring clinic in New England
Jackson Ski Touring Foundation
You want clearly zoned dog trails near a major mountain resort
Crested Butte Nordic
You want dog-friendly lodging plus named dog trails at a Nordic-specific center
Craftsbury Outdoor Center
You want a short, purpose-built dog-only ski loop
Camel's Hump Nordic Ski Area
You want a casual, low-key recreational ski or snowshoe outing with your dog
Minocqua Winter Park
Common questions
- Can dogs ride chairlifts or ski the main alpine slopes at any of these resorts?
- No. Every policy page checked for this guide states that dogs are not allowed on aerial lifts or on groomed alpine ski slopes during winter operation, aside from ADA service animals. Dog access at these locations is on Nordic/snowshoe trails, uphill skinning routes, or through skijoring programs, not the main ski hill.
- Which resort allows dogs off-leash?
- Granby Ranch's own FAQ allows dogs off-leash on its Upper Mtn. and Golf Nordic Trails and on designated uphill skinning routes, provided the dog is under voice control and in sight; a leash is required elsewhere on the property.
- Is there a resort with true pet-friendly lodging for a ski trip?
- Wintergreen Resort in Virginia publishes designated 'Dog Friendly' lodging units (up to two dogs, 70 lbs each) with a $50/night non-refundable pet fee, plus leashed access to the Mountain Inn lobby, restaurant patios and most hiking trails, though not the ski slopes during winter.
- What is skijoring, and where can I try it with my dog?
- Skijoring is cross-country skiing pulled by a harnessed dog. Gunstock Mountain Resort runs a formal, priced lesson program (a $112 beginner package and $60 private lessons) on 15 km of designated trails, Minocqua Winter Park allows harnessed dogs on its Wilderness Trails, and Jackson Ski Touring Foundation hosts organized skijoring clinics on its Nordic network.
- Do any of these places charge a specific fee for bringing a dog?
- Wintergreen Resort publishes a $50/night non-refundable pet guest fee for lodging, and Gunstock publishes skijoring lesson prices ($112 beginner package, $60 private lesson). Most of the other resorts and Nordic centers in this guide do not publish a dog-specific fee on the pages checked.
- Are there resorts that explicitly do not allow dogs?
- Yes. Smugglers' Notch Resort in Vermont states in its own policy that personal pets, including emotional-support animals, are not permitted anywhere on the resort, with only ADA service animals allowed; it was excluded from this guide for that reason.
Sources consulted
Official product pages, specification sheets and retailer listings used to compile this guide.
- https://granbyranch.com/news/granby-faq/dogs/
- https://www.wintergreenresort.com/pet-friendly-lodging-policy/
- https://www.skiburke.com/plan-your-trip/dashney-nordic-center
- https://www.ymcarockies.org/things-to-do/nordic-center
- https://www.gunstock.com/policies/
- https://www.gunstock.com/winter/nordic-center/xc-lessons-clinics/
- https://www.jacksonxc.org/event/skijoring-with-jack-and-the-klonaquay-siberians/
- https://www.cbnordic.org/dogs
- https://www.craftsbury.com/dog-policy
- https://skivermont.com/camels-hump-nordic-ski-area
- https://minocquawinterpark.org/park/skijor/
- https://www.smuggs.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/07/Service-Animal-Registration.pdf
- https://www.breckenridgenordic.com/breckenridge-nordic-center-trail-rules/
Related guides

Best Ski Resorts in Colorado
A pass-by-pass, mountain-by-mountain look at 10 currently operating Colorado ski resorts, with skiable acres, vertical drop and drive time from Denver pulled from each resort's own site.

Best Colorado Ski Resorts for Beginners
Ten Colorado resorts compared on the beginner-terrain percentage, dedicated learning areas and base elevation each resort publishes on its own site — built for first-timers and early-progression skiers, not experts.

Best Snowshoes 2026
Ten currently sold snowshoes compared on published traction system, binding, weight and price, from ultralight mountaineering models to beginner-friendly foam and trail designs.

Best Dog-Friendly Vacations in the US
A look at 10 US destinations with dog rules pulled directly from official city, county, state and tourism-board sources, covering leash laws, off-leash areas and beach access.

Best Hotels in Breckenridge
A practical look at 10 confirmed, currently operating places to stay in Breckenridge, Colorado, from ski-in/ski-out base-area lodges to a historic Main Street property.

Best Dog-Friendly Beaches in Florida
A region-by-region look at 10 real dog-friendly beaches in Florida, with leash rules, hours and fees pulled directly from official city, county and state park sources.
One useful email a week
New guides, revisions to existing ones with a note on what changed and why, and price moves worth knowing about. One email a week, unsubscribe anytime.
